Maine CDC’s Health Inspection program has seen an increase in tattoo complaints over the past year. Many of these relate to tattoo parties in private homes.
State law prohibits tattooing in a person’s home. Tattoos may only be performed in a state-approved tattoo studio. All tattooing must be practiced with a state-issued license. Unlicensed tattooing is a Class E criminal offense, subject to a fine of between $50 and $500 or up to six months in prison.
Licensing ensures proper safety training, proper sanitary facilities and equipment, proper disposal of sharps and medical waste, and adherence to state rules for tattooing. All licensed tattoo studios are inspected regularly by Maine CDC’s Health Inspection Program.
Receiving a tattoo from an unlicensed tattoo artist increases the risk of skin infection and transmission of diseases such as HIV, Hepatitis B, and Hepatitis C.
State law also prohibits tattoos being place on anyone younger than 18.